Tuesday, November 03, 2009

1000. Beck - Guero (2005)

Track Listing

1. E-Pro
2. Que' Onda Guero
3. Girl
4. Missing
5. Black Tambourine
6. Earthquake Weather
7. Hell Yes
8. Broken Drum
9. Scarecrow
10. Go It Alone
11. Farewell Ride
12. Rental Car
13. Emergency Exit


1000 albums! Let's party like it's 1999! But really we should save it for tomorrow where I'm actually getting to 1001! And then filling up two older reviews! And we can celebrate then again! And then the updates 20 albums which will require another celebration. Oh and I got some money I was owed today! Yay!

So Beck has given us innovative sample music, great acoustic stuff and with Guero he pretty much mashes these two together to make something new and yet strangely reminiscing of his previous stuff.

So I am again quite weary of recognising the crazy scientologist's quality. But he is good and you need only put on E-Pro to realise it. That being said this isn't really the strongest of his albums. So fun and all but not really up there with his best stuff, Odelay will always be Odelay.

Track Highlights

1. E-Pro
2. Girl
3. Missing
4. Rental Car

Final Grade



From Wikpedia:

Jack White of The White Stripes plays bass on "Go It Alone". Money Mark, solo artist and keyboardist for the Beastie Boys, plays the organ on "Earthquake Weather". Petra Haden, formerly of that dog. and The Rentals, provides an intricate backing vocal track for "Rental Car". Christina Ricci provides the cameo voice in "Hell Yes".



JBS said...

1001 - good work! We only just started so quite a way to go. Our list isn't quite as professional though!

Anonymous said...

Can't wait to read the next article !