Saturday, September 23, 2006

98. Donovan - Sunshine Superman (1967)

Track Listing

1. Sunshine Superman
2. Legend Of A Girl Child Linda
3. Three Kingfishers
4. Ferris Wheel
5. Bert's Blues
6. Season Of The Witch
7. The Trip
8. Guinevere
9. The Fat Angel
10. Celeste


So, Donovan, yes. Mellow Yellow it ain't fortunately. It is actually a great example of British folk revival, we will have more interesting ones in the future, but Donovan is definitely a defining artist in the whole movement and also the one with the greatest commercial success.

This is both good and bad, you can tell that this album was made to sell, and no matter how good the track Sunshine Superman is, it is a bit out of place. It's a single to sell albums and it makes a good job as what it is. The rest of the album is actually more interesting and if you ignore some unremarkable tracks that it does have it is actually quite good.

Notice I say quite, it didn't really blow my mind with the notable exception of Season of The Witch where Donovan seems to sound like the Velvet Underground for parts of it. And that is indeed laudable. Other tracks like Legend of A Girl Child Linda are great narrative tracks with the whole medieval English feel to them. A great album, but really not that remarkable, and I love folk, sometimes more than life itself. Stream it from Napster or Buy it from Amazon UK or US.

Track Highlights

1. Season of The Witch
2. Legend Of A Girl Child Linda
3. Sunshine Superman
3. Three Kingfishers

Final Grade



No comments: